Book Four of Scandalous Spinsters

The night that started it all

Practiced rake Roman Alexander, Lord Montborne, never meant to seduce his best friend's sister. He certainly never intends to do it again. The reckless scoundrel has never felt more compelled to be a better man. Nevertheless, he can't seem to forget her, or her passionate response to his kisses. How much danger can there be in one more try?

The day that ruined everything

Serious-minded headmistress Miss Lucy Lancester believes her handsome rogue has moved on to his next conquest, leaving her free to cherish their one night together for the rest of her bluestocking days. Until the afternoon he arrives at her school intent on proving their one night wasn't enough—and this time, the scandal can't be contained. Left with few options and no reputation, Lucy turns to the one man she's sworn never to be alone with again. How dangerous can it be to spend her nights in the company of a rake?

Publisher: Intrepid Reads
Cover Artists:
Reviews:on Love Saves the World:

"This is a novel with an amazing, amazing heart -- and that heart belongs to Roman Alexander."

Jennifer Hayes on Jenerated Reviews wrote:

"A story of human error, accountability and ultimately forgiveness of oneself and others brings this novel full circle. The magnetic attraction between the hero and heroine was an added bonus to this appealing book."

on Buried Under Romance:

"The Art of Ruining a Rake is an absolutely fabulous historical romance! Ms. Locke is a fantastically talented writer, her prose is effortless, elegant and witty, the dialogues are spectacular, and the banter between Roman and Lucy is priceless... There is real passion, the character development is beyond compare, it's fun, light, and lovely; a complete and utter delight."

The Art of Ruining a Rake tells the story of Roman Alexander and Lucy Lancester, whose story began when they were secondary characters in The Trouble with Being Wicked and continued in their prequel novella, A Game of Persuasion. Enjoy their emotional journey to happily ever after, and visit with old characters in this new entry in the Scandalous Spinsters series.